2007 Fleer

26 11 2007

“Worst.Product.Ever.”

OK, that’s just an exaggeration but when my wife came home with a box of Fleer instead of the Fleer Ultra I asked for I knew things were going to go from bad to worse. I don’t see anyone buying this product unless they are strapped for cash and need a fix of baseball cards and/or you are a young collector. There is no other reason to buy this stuff.

Design – C – The only reason it gets that high is because the cards have a very clean look to them. The ‘Rookie Sensations’ sub-inserts are junk and look like they were designed by the guy that made Circa ’97.

Price – B – You gets lots of cards. You will get all your favorite players, 2 or 3 times. No guaranteed “hit” and guess what? I got nothing. You can get it on eBay for under $25 but I don’t see why you would want to.

Pulls – D – If it weren’t for the $5 Andrew Miller I pulled (three times) this would have easily been an ‘F’. No “hits” whatsoever.

Overall – D – Nice-looking cards but very, very uninspiring. I almost stopped collecting after this product. There was something like 30 packs and each pack killed my love more and more. Stay away.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW FULL SCAN


Actions

Information

7 responses

18 03 2008
JT

I like the base design. Simple and clean, just like the 1980s.

18 03 2008
Wax Heaven

JT, you could probably get a box for $30 on eBay but why would you want to? You should have seen me bust the box back then (before the days of video box breaks). I almost fell asleep!

18 03 2008
JT

Why would I want to? Because I like the inexpensive stuff. I just busted 2 boxes of 1989 Score a couple of weeks ago…$5 per box. $30 is still a little steep for me, since I can get a lot of late 80s/early 90s stuff for $5-10, but after I complete all those sets I might go for it.

19 03 2008
Wax Heaven

JT, I know you are not into the new hype of today’s cards but I don’t think a product like Fleer will be able to hold your attention for long.

Shoot, you could still find a blaster of Masterpieces for $20….the cards have much more pizazz and you could luck out and still find a game-used or auto.

19 03 2008
JT

You’re probably right. I do have a few of these cards, I think I got a pack in one of those “10 packs for 10 dollars” boxes. I would like specific cards, like the Griffey or Dunn. But I’m still focusing my attention on the 1980s sets for the most part right now.

I need to spend some time at the card shop soon and find out exactly what he has and how much they cost. I loved the Archives cards of a few years ago, and Upper Deck’s retro set (can’t remember what it was called). Anytime I can pull a Fergie Jenkins or Johnny Bench, even in newer sets, I’m happy.

20 03 2008
Greg A.

Aw, c’mon! These are nice looking, especially the inserts. This is the only other set besides Heritage that I’m building this year. I agree with you about the rookies, but to me, rookies belong in the back of the set anyway. They’re the least important part of a set to me. And I’m not bothered that there aren’t any quadruple platinum autos numbered to 10. That just means they’re affordable and a lot of people will have them to trade. A full hobby box is always better than a blaster unless you’re down to the last few dozen in your set or you’re just after certain cards…

20 03 2009
Eric E

i kinda agree with you, Mario

Leave a Reply

