2007 Bowman

26 11 2007

“Mandatory yet never boring.”

In today’s rookie-crazed baseball card world it is mandatory to pick up either a box of Bowman or Bowman Chrome, preferably both. I went into this product knowing that when Chrome came out I’d basically be buying the same cards over again but for a lot more money and I did not even care. Bowman pretty much demands the respect of every baseball card collector in the world.

Design – A – Some people did not like such dark cards but I love the black and green borders. The photography was not just excellent but in some cases was creatively used, which I can always appreciate.

Price – B – I might have overpaid to get it as soon as possible but for $80 you get a ton of cards, rookies, and one guaranteed “hit”. I just can’t argue with that.

Pulls – B – The rookies pretty much ruled my box and I only got about 50% of today’s superstars. The autograph was actually on the card which I don’t like as much as the sticker because it almost got lost in the shuffle.

Overall – B – It’s going to be a couple of seasons before I will know if this year’s Bowman bunch is worth anything or if I am holding on to a bunch of cards from AA superstars who end up working as disgruntled carpenters and bus drivers for the rest of their lives.

CLICK HERE FOR FULL SCAN


Actions

Information

4 responses

28 11 2007
dayf

I don’t know, I’ve been bored to death by Bowman the past couple of years. I wish they would just scrap the veterans and do an all-prospects set. It seems to me that all the good rookies come out of the Bowman Draft picks sets anyway. Who knows though, that might change in a couple of years with the new prospects insert set they are using to circumvent the MLB Rookie card rules.

28 11 2007
Mario C.

The only beef I had with them is handling of the cards has to be very carefully cause those black borders are itching to be scratched.

25 02 2008
officer27

As I am new to collecting I picked Bowman as my first set to complete. I must say I do like the cards very much. As well as the hits that they come with, they’ve been decent for me anyway. I am a few cards short so if someone can help I would greatly appreciate it.

25 02 2008
Mario C.

I have tons. I could probably send you 50% of what you need to complete the set—no strings attached. E-mail me the card #’s you need to WaxHeaven@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

