Stop the insanity!

13 11 2007

There is currently a mad man on eBay trying to sell two graded 1/1 Bowman rookie cards of a guy named Elvis Andrus for a whopping $4,000! One is a 2006 Bowman Sterling Red Refractor and the other is a 2006 Bowman Chrome Super Fractor. Now while both cards are beautiful (specially the Sterling), to ask for more than $500 seems somewhat ludicrous considering Elvis is at best a singles hitter who will probably do something like 7 home runs, 50 RBI, 60 Stolen Bases, and low .300 average per year. I mean, just look at his minor league stats and tell me this guy is gonna do much of anything if and when he becomes a full-time pro. I’d say he’s well on his way to being a poor man’s Juan Pierre.

How about this…if Elvis wins rookie of the year in 2008 or 2009 I will buy each person who leaves a comment in this topic 3 packs of Bowman Chrome of whatever year he wins the award from. That is how certain I am that Elvis is not going to do much and that crazy eBay member is on some crazy drugs.


Actions

Information

12 responses

13 11 2007
Greg A.

Another example of how grading has corrupted the hobby….

14 11 2007
Steve G.

I couldn’t justify spending that much on a card of an unproven player. I couldn’t justify spending that much on a proven player. If the card was close to 100 years old and in that condition, that may be one thing. That type of money for a card that isn’t even 2 years old is plain stupidity.

14 11 2007
Joey

Those kind of listings crack me up. I can think of a ton of other cards I would buy before I bought these two. Maybe he is getting his Elvis’s confused.

14 11 2007
dayf

That guy’s on crack. You could buy a nice Willie Mays rookie card with 4 grand and still have enough to pick up a ’54 Hank Aaron. What the hell’s the point of grading a 1/1 anyway? So what if it’s gem mint, it’s the only one there is! A dog could take a shit on it and it would still be the finest example in existence.

To be fair to Elvis, he’s a pretty decent prospect. He’s only 19 and the stats are a bit misleading because Myrtle Beach is notorious for being the worst hitter’s park in the minors. That being said, unless Jesus floats down from heaven, picks up a bat, rakes .692 with 197 home runs in A ball and then personally blesses his superfractor into a get out of Hell free card, there is no freaking way a card of a prospect is worth 4 thousand bucks.

14 11 2007
Mario C.

That’s 12 packs of Bowman Chrome I might have to buy if Elvis turns out to be the Venezuelan Pujols!

I’m sure he will put on some weight and have a little pop but I just don’t see him being worth $4,000……ever.

14 11 2007
hiphopsince1976

LMAO..This dude most be crazy

16 11 2007
BeeRad

Andrus was legit in A-ball; but it was mainly his glove. He turned a lot of heads when I was working in the SALly league because he was only 17. He’s the Rangers’ (traded from the Braves in the Teixeira deal) version of Tabata. I’d love 3 packs of chrome, but I don’t see it happening….

27 11 2007
extrapreneur

I know, it’s ridiculous, what loser collects baseball cards? But don’t use the word insanity likes it’s a bad thing, please.

check out my blog at http://www.extrapreneur.wordpress.com

27 11 2007
Mario C.

Your blog sucks.

19 12 2007
Drew

While you may well be right, a .300 season with 60 SB will win a lot of ROY awards…

20 12 2007
Mario C.

True, but it’s still not worth the price of those cards!

12 10 2009
chris

I hope it’s not too late for me to enter!😀

Leave a Reply

