The Day I Became A Collector For Life

9 11 2007

It was 1989 and I was a 9 year old immigrant just two years removed from my home land of Venezuela. One weekend while shopping at a local retail store with my mother I picked up a pack of playing cards at the cash register, as most young kids do. After all, why go shopping with your folks if there is no treat at the end of the day? After a few minutes of begging my mother obliged and bought the pack of Topps Ames Baseball All-Stars Factory Set for $3.00.

When I got in the car and opened up my cards I was devastated to find out that the playing cards were actually baseball cards, a sport I knew absolutely nothing about. As I flipped through the glossy & somewhat dull cards one of them grabbed my attention. Keep in mind that the set was filled with Hall of Famers like Nolan Ryan, Rickey Henderson, and Cal Ripken Jr., but the only one that caught my eye was a muscle-bound freak with an expression on his face that said “I WANT TO KILL THIS BASEBALL”. As a little kid, that was all the fuel I needed to begin collecting.

From that day on I did everything I could to get more baseball cards. When my mother could only afford 2-3 packs a week, I rode my bycicle to the local 7-11 and stole packs and packs of ’90 Donruss & Topps, the Upper Deck, for some reason, was behind the counter.

I ended up taking a break from the hobby in 1997, a break that lasted a decade but nothing could keep me away from the love I have for collecting and the excitement brought on by opening a brand new box of Bowman Chrome or SPx. Wax Heaven was established for everyone who has ever experienced the thrill of a huge pull, whether it be from a 1989 Upper Deck Ken Griffey Jr. rookie card or a Babe Ruth Piece of History bat memorabilia card. The thrill never goes away and hopefully, neither will Wax Heaven.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

